77-79 Downsized Ambulances

Daniel Scully

PCS Member
Super Site Supporter
Was looking thru some old TPC,s and found this article.35-3.jpg35-4.jpg35-5.jpg35-6.jpg35-7.jpg35-8.jpg35-9.jpg35-10.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Interestingly, of the four downsize Superior ambulances delivered in NJ that Craig discussed in his article, at least two of them still exist. The Cheesequake '77 is now owned by PCS member Mike Barruzza. The '79 from Twin-W is still owned by them as a display/parade piece.

Both the Kearny and Marlton ambulances have been at past PCS meets in the 80's, but I don't know their current fates.

The 1978 Stettler General Hospital, Alberta Canada belongs to me. I purchased the car from the Copper River EMS. The car was taken in as a trade toward a new Crestline ambulance, by Peter Adsten, and went to another ambulance service in Healey Alaska, however, I have no knowledge of what agency. It then wound up at Copper River EMS in Glennallen, Alaska. I purchased it October 2004, after they were unsuccessful in finding a local buyer, and had to get it out of the cold ASAP. They informed me that they had no place to store the car indoors, and if it had been left outside, the engine would freeze from the cold and crack. I was able to get the car shipped to Oregon, and Rick Franklin stored it until I was able to get it moved East.
The picture is of it sitting outside in Glennallen Alaska in 2004.

Attachments

• 78 superior A.jpg
    78 superior A.jpg
    80.4 KB · Views: 1,197
The Marlton '79 still exists and is in the hands of a collector. The only car out of the 30 that I know for certain no longer exists is the Lord Funeral Home '77. The last owner of this car reported that it had become so rusty it was no longer salvageable. Sadly, this car was crushed at least a few years ago if not longer. There may be a few others that no longer exist as well, and the known survivors are in varying degrees of condition, many of which are very good to excellent.