Compressor

Jean-Marc Dugas

PCS Member
I am looking at purchasing a better compressor. I just returned the one I purchased a couple of weeks ago as it was not powerful enough.

I want something that can run the air chisel and die grander relatively well. There is a DeWalt unit on sale with the following specifications. Do you think that it would have enough power to be useful?

1.9 HP
13 Gallon tank
5.4 CFM @ 90PSI

I'm no compressor expert, but I will tell you an air die grinder will consume more air than anything else you'll probably use (with the exception of a sandblaster unit). The bigger the tank, the better the performance. You need air capacity in a reserve tank to "keep up" with certain tools. I have a 13 gallon that does a lousy job keeping up with the die grinder... you have to stop & let the compressor catch up as your air pressure goes away. Of course a decent sized upright compressor is ideal... so watch Craigslist & maybe you'll find a larger compressor @ a reasonable price to meet your needs. Others will chime in on here to probably give you more exact specs, but i don't think you'd be happy with a 13 gallon for long runs with a die grinder.