What is the difference between the Cadillac 472 and 500?

First and foremost, I am not a motor guy.

I have worked on several motors, but I am still learning. So, my question is... what is the actual difference between the Cadillac 472 and 500?

In my 1973 Superior Cadillac, I had a 472 ci motor. I have been told that it actually put out 500 hp. Is there another motor that Cadillac put into their cars that was a true 500 ci motor? I just read a Craigslist add that mentioned a 1975 Cadillac with a 500 ci motor.

First and foremost, I am not a motor guy.

I have worked on several motors, but I am still learning.