to all Funeral Directors

I have a question for all Funeral Directors / owners

I'm thinking of applying to a Funeral home up here in Ontario for a Funeral Director Assisant. ( its more like a door greeter ) but I have no experience at all in the bussiness but would love to work in a home.

whats the best piece of advise you can give me to get notice by this owner ???

Thanks

Mike

From a businessman and employer, not a funeral home owner.. If you offer to work for a couple of times for free, they will realize that you are sincere about trying out the job. Who knows, it might not be something that you will like doing once you try it, and on the other hand, you might love it.

Good advice......also, accentuate any organizations, clubs and church you belong to. Sometimes owners, from purely a strategic standpoint, look to see what a potential employee brings to the table,, ie; you belong to a club or church that the owner/manager wants to "get in"....in our business, personal reference is king!

just found out my friend knows the owner..she went out with him in Highschool......God I hope she didn't dump him or anything like that ?????

You know what they say about having skeletons in the closet.. better to leave them there than to disturb them.. :my2cents:

outside of my paramedic career I have also over the years worked in several Ontario funeral homes,show up well groomed,shoes shone,as mentioned in a suit and tie best,talk softly and clearly and look directly at the person you are talking to,you are applying to a very noble profession,that deals with people at their worst time and your actions will reflect on the funeral home,

Not sure if it is a good or bad thing....

You could let him know you have your own hearse if he needs an additional one sometime.

I'd say... keep that to yourself for the time being.