View Full Version : Suspect E- mail

Dave Hopping
10-23-2017, 08:24 PM
I got an e-mail today from someone claiming to be Jeff Hookway with the e-mail address djaozan@plataran.com, asking for payment(amount not specified) and followed by a really long link to click on where I could see my statement. Something looked a little off about it so I didn't click the link. Is this legit? Has anyone else gotten similar e-mails?

Rick Franklin
10-23-2017, 08:54 PM
thats not jeffs email address

Peter Grave
10-23-2017, 09:01 PM
Do not click or reply chances are 99 out of 100 its scam to either put a virus in your computer or get info. Use the pm mail to mail direct if you think its real. I get this type and ones that say "I think you will enjoy this? " with a link to click on and a KNOWN email address for the sender Every time the senders account has been hacked. Watch it!

John ED Renstrom
10-23-2017, 10:04 PM
best to do the pay pal then the professional car society site or snail mail to Jeff direct threw his address in the club magazine. Jeff will send out notices by mail also.

Bill Marcy
10-23-2017, 10:36 PM
That is definitely not Jeff's email, glad you didn't click on it.

Darren Bedford
10-23-2017, 11:00 PM
I got the same thing and knew it was a scam/spam email.

I forwarded the email to Jeff so he was aware of it.

Here is a photo of the email address I got when I clicked on Jeff's email address to see if it was really his. Was NOT !


Gus Boucher
10-23-2017, 11:35 PM
I got 1 also I did not reply. It did not look real to me to me. Keep me posted.

James Fischer
10-24-2017, 03:17 AM
I got the same thing and knew it was a scam/spam email.

I forwarded the email to Jeff so he was aware of it.

Here is a photo of the email address I got when I clicked on Jeff's email address to see if it was really his. Was NOT !


Thanks Darren,
that E-Mail address is in Germany (.de)

Jeff Hookway
10-24-2017, 06:15 AM

Yes that is NOT my e-mail.

Darren Bedford
10-25-2017, 09:58 PM
I got another email similar to the last one today.
Different email address but still under Jeff's name.

Gus Boucher
10-31-2017, 09:59 AM
I had another one in my e mail this A/M. Looks like this person has all our addresses as well.

Paul Steinberg
10-31-2017, 12:46 PM
There is no way that they can collect email address's from this site, however, if they got into Jeff's email account, and he has your email address, in it, there is that possibility. I know that Jeff has my email in his address book, and I have yet to get any questionable emails, so even that is a remote possibility. In fact, we don't know that the Jeff Hookway that is sending the emails, is actually the Jeff Hookway that we all know. My guess is it isn't the Jeff that we all know!

Darren Bedford
10-31-2017, 12:48 PM
I am at 3 myself. All from different email address hidden under Jeff's email address.


Wayne Krakowski
10-31-2017, 02:54 PM
Got my first one today,and deleted it.thanks for the heads up.

Bill Marcy
10-31-2017, 05:33 PM
I got one yesterday.

Gus Boucher
10-31-2017, 06:50 PM
Thanks for the info.

Paul Steinberg
10-31-2017, 07:01 PM
If someone gets another email, and they know how to find the "headers", I might be able to contact the IP service and have the email shut down. Most IP (internet providers) take a dim view of email spammers, since it wastes their resources. If you Google "How to find email headers" along with your email server name, and then copy and past the information to me, I will work on this.

Bill Leverett
11-13-2017, 10:39 AM
Anyone else get this strange email supposedly from Jeff Hookway?

Here's the email address is came from:

UPS US <Catherine.Nguyen@dynamic-mfg.us>

The physical parcel may or may not have actually been tendered to UPS for shipment.

To manage or download your delivery information click here.

Scheduled Delivery Date: Monday, 11/13/2017

Shipment Details

From: Jeffrey C Hookway
Tracking Number: 9A86498960681833
Number of Packages: 1

Thank you for your business.

John ED Renstrom
11-13-2017, 10:49 AM
I keep getting one about a airline ticket or vacation package being payed out of my PayPal account. That one doesn't have Jeff's name on it. The Lions club here I western SD keep getting a request for a payment that is to have been sent to the treasurer from the club President. I guess all it had to. Do is work once for them but I wish these people would get a job

Bill Leverett
11-13-2017, 10:52 AM
I know that it's not real and that clicking any of the links sends my computer to a place I don't want it to go.

How do names we know show up in these emails?

Denny Shira
11-13-2017, 10:54 AM
I also got a strange e mail, supposedly from Jeff Hookway. I thought the better of it and did not open it. Contacted Jeff and he confirmed my suspicions. It is as you say, some sort of phishing scam.
It is amazing that more of these people are not caught and prosecuted. I talked with a friend of mine who is a retired police detective. he said that there are so many of these guys (or gals) out there that they only chase the big fish.
It pays to be vigilant with your e mails.
If it is anything that you don't recognize, DON'T OPEN IT!!! Take care my friends.

Paul Steinberg
11-13-2017, 12:28 PM
I know that it's not real and that clicking any of the links sends my computer to a place I don't want it to go.

How do names we know show up in these emails?

Common names are used, and sometimes, they get into someone's email account, and find an email, and then start spamming using that name. I would need all the headers of the emails that are suspicious to try to get them shut down. I have been successful only a few times, but it is better than nothing. Many times, they use a real business name to spam and the "real business" name is on top of a hidden email address. This is why I need the headers to dig deeper into where they are originating. Sometimes, they are actually using a business's account without their knowledge, since they were able to hack the business webmail server account. It is also known that they use college and university accounts nefariously, since the institutions allow all students to set up accounts. The best way is to delete anything that you get that you don't know the person, and if it is a familiar name, then open it, but don't open any links. Opening the email itself isn't going to harm you, only clicking on the links in the email will.

Bill Marcy
11-13-2017, 05:09 PM
Yes, I also got one and I was immediately suspicious of it, so I deleted it. I figured that if I really had something coming, it would get here soon enough.

Paul Steinberg
11-15-2017, 01:22 PM
I recieved the same email this morning, and after looking at the hidden headers, determined where these emails are coming from. I have send an email to the website IT people and have asked them to fix this problem. I will post if and when I get a reply from them.
Paul Steinberg
Senior Website Administrator

Peter Grave
12-06-2017, 08:57 AM
Latest chapter in the Hookway email mystery received today at 7:53 A.M. Jeffery C. Hookway (victoriag@securitymayflower.com ) Hi !

I would like to ask you about information reg. payment of 2 Invoices. Both are enclosed in attachement. We are looking for your fedback.


Tim Prieur
12-06-2017, 09:26 PM
Count me in as well. Thanks for the heads up.

Paul Steinberg
12-07-2017, 12:02 AM
They have switched to another internet provider, located in ‎Bulgaria. The only thing to do is to delete the emails and never click on any links. If you mistakenly click on a link, then disconnect your computer from the internet, and make sure that you haven't infected it. Best to take it to a service facility, such as Staples or the Geek Squad (Best Buy). Having it professionally cleaned is a lot safer, and less expensive than having your personal information stolen.

Peter Grave
12-07-2017, 12:28 AM
Like Paul says if its a strange unknown Email NEVER click on any link provided. NO MATTER HOW TEMPTING. You will make a BIG mess for yourself. BEWARE!!!

Gus Boucher
12-07-2017, 01:29 AM
I get these all the time like many of you do, I think. Paul and others are so correct about how to deal with them. IF IT DOSE NOT SOUND OR FEEL RIGHT ITS **** . Send it to recycle and do not respond.
Just my thoughts.

John ED Renstrom
12-07-2017, 10:58 AM
Mine are related to pay pal or face book . Alwise some thing has gone threw or my account is in impending doom . If you want to check go directly to that site from your browser do not open or go to a link in a e mail. One nice thing with me is I can't remember my password to anything so I'm safe.