PDA

View Full Version : 1972 superior ambulance Colorado

Chris Elzie
09-12-2013, 10:38 PM
http://denver.craigslist.org/cto/4062898686.html

Bill Marcy
09-12-2013, 11:29 PM
All I can say is that I wish I could buy it!

John ED Renstrom
09-12-2013, 11:47 PM
it's a ambulance if you find mice in it. be nice to know the damage they did if one is spending that kind of money.

Abe Bush
09-12-2013, 11:58 PM
I can attest this ambulance was purchased brand new by Reed Ambulance in Denver. Reed ambulance was bought by Mr. Allen J. Powers in 1979 after Mr. Reed's sudden death. Mr. Powers owned and operated the company as Reed Ambulance until he sold the company in 1993, I believe to AMR. But in 2000, Mr. Powers decided to get back into the ambulance business again, and started up a new ambulance service in the Denver metro area, called Action Care Ambulance, Inc.

I worked for Reed ambulance for one year in 1989 driving a "Cabulance" (even though I was a Nationally registered EMT-Basic, I was only 19 at the time and didn't have my CO EMT license, and CO didn't offer reciprocity) , and saw pics of this Cadillac in a big photo album in the break room at our headquarters. At the time, this 1972 Superior Cadillac was considered a "sacred cow", and was only brought out for special occasions.

I am surprised to see they are selling it after all these years. When they say the original owner has the title, that's actually not true. The original owner -- Mr. Reed -- died in 1979, although the current owner of this ambulance bought the entire company (which would have included this ambulance) from the original owner.

Rocky Fluegge
09-13-2013, 12:50 AM
looks like a really nice ride. Seems like a really good price if it is as nice as it looks. Would not take long if you buy a rougher car and try to do paint and chrome. You would be way over the asking price of that car.

Fred Goerlitz
09-13-2013, 06:06 AM
If memory serves it was at the International Meet in Denver.

Josh Noiles